Friday, April 20, 2018

TLA Celebrates Na Kumu Alaka'i Cohort 2017-2018

2017-2018 TLA Cohort

On Thursday, April 19th - Na Kumu Alaka'i ~ Teacher Leader Academy (TLA) inducted 40 amazing educators into the HIDOE ranks of teacher leadership. The day was full of action research projects, oral presentations and a gallery walk of testimonies to share impact made at the school, complex and district levels. Guests included HIDOE Deputy Superintendent, Phyllis Unebasami, Assistant Superintendent Cynthia Covell, Complex Area Superintendents from across the State, Principals and Vice Principals supporting their teachers, HIDOE state-level specialists, University and College representatives, and notable community stakeholders who continually support teacher leadership across the State of Hawai'i.

As a way of growing leaders, reflective practices are continually built into our program - below is an excerpt from Marianne Belmoro's culminating reflection about her TLA experience:

It is with bittersweet emotions we bid farewell to this tremendous group of teacher leaders, and wish them well on their future opportunities and journey as educators in this remarkable field of education.
A hui hou kākou!
Sandy Cameli
TLA Program Specialist

Congratulations to the following Teacher Leaders for their dedication to Hawaii's public schools and students:

Kaleo Aki, Hilo Intermediate

Victoria Andrus, Honolulu District Office

GeriAnn Aoki-Davidson, Kahakai Elementary

Marianne Belmoro, Fern Elementary

Justin Brown, Kealakehe High

Kathy Burch, Waimalu Elementary

Kainoa Calip, Mt. View Elementary

Bill Chen, Kahakai Elementary

Alisha DeGuair, Kahakai Elementary

JoAnn Eckert, Kaimuki-McKinley-Radford Complex Area

Jeffrey Fernandez, Pearl City-Waipahu Complex Area

Keali'i Freitas, Kealakehe High

Dyani Fujita, Keonepoko Elementary

Moani Garcia, West Hawaii Complex Area

Lisa Grinder, Lanakila Elementary

Joseph Gross, Konawaena Elementary

Ian Haskins, Princess Nahienaena Elementary

Keala Ili, Mt. View Elementary

Kimberly Ka'ai, Kaunakakai Elementary

Dean Kai, James Campbell High 

Tiffany Kanahele, Kailua High 

Mandy Kaya, Kahului Elementary

Leialoha Kelekolio, Kanoelani Elementary

Cameron Kubota, Waianae High

Brandon Lee, Kauluwela Elementary

Cassandra Macatiag, Kealakehe High

Nikki Morishige, Waiahole Elementary

Stephanie Murayama, James Campbell High

Alison Nakamatsu, Solomon Elementary

Megan Oberg, Keonepoko Elementary

Tzaddi Pearce, Solomon Elementary

LeeAnn Ragasa, Hilo Union Elementary

Deborah Rowe, Waimea Canyon Middle 

John Santiago, James Campbell High

Dr. Michelle Suzuki, EdD, Campbell-Kapolei Complex Area

Kamaile Taba, Ke Kula Ni'ihau O Kekaha, PCS

Lori Takahashi, Waipahu Intermediate

Jenna Valbuena, Kae'wai Elementary

Joyce Yang, Kapolei High

David Yung, Maunawili Elementary

Photos, Tweets and Posts from April 19, 2018 ~ TLA Celebration




No comments:

Post a Comment